A tree is considered abandoned if the profile manager has not logged into their account in the past 9 months. In order to help complete merges, users may report these inactive managers as Abandoned Trees.
The following actions are taken when resolving an Abandoned Tree report:
Deceased profiles outside of the user’s Family Group are made public
For private profiles within the user’s Family Group, management is transferred to the nearest active relative in their Family Group
If a close relative cannot be found, then management of these private profiles will not change
Steps to report an abandoned tree:
Navigate to their profile page
Choose Abandoned Tree
The option to report a profile as abandoned will only appear if the user has not logged into their account in the past 9 months.