Knowledge Base/Frequently Asked Questions/Privacy

What profiles are private?

Amanda
posted this on March 28, 2012 02:15 PM

In November 2012, Geni was acquired by MyHeritage Ltd. and is now a MyHeritage company. To be more compatible with MyHeritage’s stricter privacy policy, all living profiles (those that are unclaimed and not Master Profiles) will be made private and will not be searchable on Google. 

These profiles may be viewed and edited only by:

  • You and the users in your Family Group
  • The users in the maximum Family Group of the private profile
  • Geni curators
  • Geni employees 

For an illustration of how privacy works on Geni, please see our Privacy page.

Note: On July 1, 2014, existing deceased profiles will be changed to public if no user has ever chosen to make it public or private (that is, the default privacy has always been used). Profiles considered sensitive such as recently deceased or those with a living parent  will not be made public with this change. If you would like to make a deceased profile private, you may do so by updating the privacy settings of the profile.

Updated: July 1, 2014

 
Topic is closed for comments