What happened to Friends and what are Followers?

Geni Friends are now called “Followers.” Following is a new way to organize the profiles and projects that interest you, control your notifications and invite people you know to Geni.

To follow a profile, simply click the follow button on the profile page. Click again to unfollow the profile.

Following a profile does a few things:

  • You’ll receive updates about the profile on your home page
  •  You’ll be added to the list of followers on the profile – this is a great way to find other users interested in the same profiles
  •  The profile will be added to your auto-suggest list, so you can easily find profiles you follow in search and tag them in documents, discussions and more

 Also, please note that any profiles you had previously bookmarked are now profiles you Follow. Furthermore, any profile you add to Geni gets followed by you automatically.

Note: Following does not affect privacy in any way. Following a user or profile does not give you any additional access to profile information. A user who follows you does not get any additional access to your profile or other information.

If you follow a profile that is not in your Family group, you will only receive public updates about them. You will not be able to view their photos, family discussions, or other private information and updates.

Updated: June 2, 2011Revised for clarity

Was this article helpful?
22 out of 22 found this helpful

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk