What is the difference between approving a match vs. requesting a merge?

If you see a magnifying glass on a node or an alert on a profile page regarding a match on that profile, you may view that match if you are a Pro user.

When you are reviewing the match, you will notice the two (or more) profiles side-by-side (similar to a pending merge), with buttons below asking you to confirm/approve the match. The option to approve the match will be present when you do not have permission to request/complete the merge.

Once a match has been approved, it is then up to the other profile managers to then approve the merge.

For instance, let's say you (Bob) see a match for Mary Jones and you click to review the match. While reviewing the match you notice that one of her profiles is being managed by John Taylor and the other does not list any manager. If you agree that these 2 profiles are in fact both for the same Mary, you may approve the match. Your match approval becomes a pending merge request for both John and Mary to accept.

What happens next is, John Taylor will login to his account and see your approved match in his Merge Center under "Requested Merge". He may then click on the "View Pending Merge" link to then accept or decline the merge. He will also see a message on the top of his screen reading, "Bob thinks these profiles are the same. If you agree, accept the merge request below."

Let's say he accepts the merge and clicks on the "Yes, merge these profiles". Now, Mary will have to login to her account (she manages her own account which is why her name was missing from the manager field in that match view from earlier) and follows the same steps as John had.

When she is reviewing the pending merge from her end, it will read "Bob and John these profiles are the same. If you agree, accept the merge request below." If she accepts, the profiles get merged.

Also, keep in mind that even if Mary had accepted the merge before John had, John would still be required to accept the merge from his end as he is managing the other profile.

The only time you would be able to request a merge from a Match view is if you had permissions to merge those profiles. The way you might have permissions is if you managed one of the profiles and/or the other profile was being managed by another person in your Family Group.

You will never be able to complete a merge when one of those profiles has been claimed.

*We will add screenshots to this FAQ shortly

Was this article helpful?
15 out of 15 found this helpful

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk